The 72nd Meeting of the Executive Committee, in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania


Description: Macintosh HD:Users:parliamentoftanzania:Desktop:logo.png





The 72nd Executive Committee Meeting of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association-Africa Region will be held at its Regional Headquarters in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania from 20th to 24th March 2017.


The CPA Africa Region is an Association of National Parliaments and Provincial/State/Territorial Legislatures of member Countries of the Commonwealth on the continent of Africa who are bonded together irrespective of gender, race or religion. Members are committed to promoting respect for human rights and freedoms, the pursuit of the ideals of democracy and good governance, building understanding and unity between countries of the Region and promoting the interests and perspectives of Africa within the Commonwealth and beyond.


The Meeting will be attended by Officers of the Association, including the Chairperson of the CPA Africa Region Executive Committee, Hon. Lindiwe Maseko MP, (South Africa); President of the Association and Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Dr. Acho Ihim MP, (Nigeria); Vice President of the Association and Speaker of Bostwana, Hon. Gladys Kokorwe; Acting Treasurer of the Association, Hon. Elijah Okupa MP, (Uganda) and Chairperson of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP), Hon. Angela Didiza MP, (South Africa).


The Meeting will also be graced by the presence of the Host Speaker, Hon. Job Yustino Ndugai, MP (Tanzania). Speakers of the National Assemblies of Kenya and Swaziland, as well as Deputy Speakers from Cameroon, South Africa and the House of Representatives of Zanzibar will also be in attendance.


Other Members of the ExCO expected to attend the Meeting include six Regional Representatives from the four Sub-regions of East, West, Central and Southern Africa; five Members of CWP Steering Committee from the same Sub-regions; as well as Representatives from 18 Parliaments (Branches) of Commonwealth Africa: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.


The 72nd ExCO will meet to consider key regional matters in line with Article 28 (i) and (g) of the Regional Constitution, that include, among other things: the preparation of 48th CPA Africa Regional Conference to be held in Nigeria in November, 2017 and consideration of Association’s Budget for the year 2018. The ExCO will also consider Reports from its three sub-committees, namely: Regional Representatives, Programme Planning and Finance, and Steering Committee of Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians. Society of Clerks-at-The-Table (SoCATT) which is an Association of Clerks of Parliaments and Provincial Legislatures will also present a Report for consideration.


The Speaker of the National Assembly of Kenya, Hon. Justin B. Muturi, EGH, MP will also table a Report of the Committee of Experts that was constituted by the 62nd CPA Conference held in London in December 2016, to consider the implementation of the decision to change the CPA’s current charity status. Hon. Muturi was nominated as Regional Representative to represent Africa in the Expert Committee.


Alongside the Meeting of the Executive Committee, there will also be a Meeting of Clerks from 12 Parliaments of Commonwealth Africa under the umbrella of Society of Clerks-at-The-Table (SoCATT). The SOCATT Steering Committee will meet to prepare the Agenda and Business of the Society’s General Meeting scheduled to be held in Owerri, Imo State of Nigeria during the 48th Regional Conference.


Issued by:

Dr. Thomas Kashililah

Regional Secretary

CPA Africa Region


18 March 2016.